Virtual airshows
December 14, 2017, 05:19:49 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Graphics settings  (Read 6002 times)
VH-Rock
VFAT Staff
Could find the throttle
****
Posts: 102


Virtual Horsemen Flight Lead


WWW
« on: September 29, 2012, 10:04:34 pm »

Hi All,

Just getting my new PC all set up and I have a small graphics issue I'd like to try and fix. I've got everything maxed out in game and I have everything set to 'application controlled' in the NVidia control panel (I have a GTX 670 btw). Problem is, in game, I can see some very faint horizontal lines moving up and down on the screen. Any ideas?
Logged

Blondie
Just able to find the joystick

Posts: 31


WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2012, 10:33:50 pm »

In Nvidia Control Panel, go to Global Settings tab and set your Antialasing - Mode to 'Override any application setting'. Then set the Antialiasing - Setting to anything above x8 to get the smooth results. The higher the setting, the bigger the hit on frames. I use something called nvidiaInspector, which does things in abit more detail. Something you may like to have a look into with a 'top end' card.

B
Logged

Sevas
Was able to find the engine start button
*
Posts: 51



WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2012, 10:36:51 pm »

Well known bug, you need mod which removes cloud shadows.
try this one - http://www.lockonfiles.com/index.php/files/file/1315-dcs-no-cloud-shadows-mod/
Logged

Beaker
Is airborne
****
Posts: 331



« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2012, 12:17:35 am »

That's for FC2 and BS1, Sevas. He's using DCS World (P-51.)
Logged

VH-Rock
VFAT Staff
Could find the throttle
****
Posts: 102


Virtual Horsemen Flight Lead


WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2012, 11:30:28 am »

Thanks for the help guys Smiley
Logged

WinteR
Could find the throttle
**
Posts: 142


Virtual Belgian F-16 Solo Display


WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2012, 12:19:54 am »

Hi guys i have too some graphic issue at DCS. When i wanted to test DCS firstly i have green screen in flight so i update my AMD(ATI) CCC from 11.5 (8.81) to 11.7 (8.91) i cannot go higher i tried it on notebook HP probook 4530s (i3-2410M, 4 GB RAM, VGA: hybrid Intel/AMD (Ati) Radeon 6490M). And now it works but i have some strange stripes in cockpit and from external but only in model area. Screens added. Do anybody know how to fix it? (i know that its low end, but hope that i may test it)
http://img805.imageshack.us/img805/9738/dcs2012101023464924.jpg
http://img547.imageshack.us/img547/9522/dcs2012101023465207.jpg
http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/6451/dcs2012101023470080.jpg
Logged

Beaker
Is airborne
****
Posts: 331



« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2012, 12:41:52 am »

...get a desktop computer? It's almost certainly related to your mobile/laptop graphics card.
Logged

WinteR
Could find the throttle
**
Posts: 142


Virtual Belgian F-16 Solo Display


WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2012, 12:51:19 am »

...get a desktop computer? It's almost certainly related to your mobile/laptop graphics card.

yup one of these answer i expected Smiley i think too, that its some bug whitch is conected with laptop card. I hoped, that somebody was crazy than I and had same problem  Smiley
Logged

WinteR
Could find the throttle
**
Posts: 142


Virtual Belgian F-16 Solo Display


WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2012, 01:31:49 am »

problem solved, but on very very very low settings, hmm it will need computer and stay on FC2 till Wink
« Last Edit: October 11, 2012, 01:35:26 am by WinteR » Logged

Sawamura
VFAT Staff
Is airborne
****
Posts: 544



« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2012, 12:07:07 pm »

And an even better PC for DCS.
Logged

WinteR
Could find the throttle
**
Posts: 142


Virtual Belgian F-16 Solo Display


WWW
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2012, 01:22:20 pm »

And an even better PC for DCS.
+1
Logged

Beaker
Is airborne
****
Posts: 331



« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2012, 11:19:55 pm »

Definitely never seen a thing like that before... very weird.
Logged

WinteR
Could find the throttle
**
Posts: 142


Virtual Belgian F-16 Solo Display


WWW
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2012, 09:47:55 am »

i set in CCC all to aplication setting, in lock on set all to low and it worked allright after i tried increase settings to medium but in fact after i had around 15-20 FPS and its not for flying. When its on low settings it has 25-30 but its very ugly. guys on ED told me that its something with GPU overheating,
Logged

Lawndart
Is airborne
****
Posts: 742

Virtual Thunderbirds


WWW
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2012, 06:29:32 pm »

Could be an issue with your onboard GPU's memory buffer trying to eat into your memory remaining to run the system itself. Lower graphics = less memory required; no issue. Higher graphics = more memory intensive; possibly not enough left for the system to run (so it has to prioritize this instead of any GPU demand).

How much memory does your computer have and how much of it is dedicated GPU vs. system (and/or if it's shared, analyzing your memory usage might give you an idea). Also, what is your virtual memory set to?

I'd bet money on this being a memory related issue, that is there's not enough of it when your settings are high... Best remedy is a better system and/or installing a dedicated graphics card!
Logged

WinteR
Could find the throttle
**
Posts: 142


Virtual Belgian F-16 Solo Display


WWW
« Reply #14 on: October 14, 2012, 01:48:14 pm »

I use hybrid GPU its intel HD graphic card (i use it only for browsing websites - when it works on batery) and when switch simulator i manualy switch to AMD Radeon 6490M 1024MB Ram GDDR5, when i set in CCC all to aplication setting it worked but it was for flying only on Low settings. In fact i am not going to fly it i wanted to test it if it may works. Other info i may provide but i mean that it isnt hardware good for flying DCS Smiley but thanks for all for hints and tips very I appreciate it!
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP | Sitemap Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!