Virtual airshows
December 11, 2017, 09:25:19 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Which simulator(s) are used?  (Read 3118 times)
Darkthreader
Just able to find the joystick

« on: October 25, 2014, 12:36:13 pm »

Hello!
I am new to VFAT and looking forward to this years airshow. I saw some videos from the last airshows, and joining a aerobatics group sounds like fun. But, which simualtors are used? I read that for VFAT you mainly use DCS Flaming Cliffs, but are there some FSX groups too? I don't own DCS Flaming Cliffs, but I do own FSX and know how to use it (more or less... :/).
Sawamura
VFAT Staff
Is airborne

« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2014, 01:23:13 pm »

The most used simulator this year is DCS. Second most is Flaming Cliffs 2.
In the past, we had a couple of FSX teams joining VFAT that flew interesting demos.
DCS World itself is for free, you can download(here) and try out with the Su-25 that is included. Flaming Cliffs 3 isn't so expensive anymore and covers a bunch interesting jets as the F-15, Su-27, Mig-29 and more. If this simulator is in your liking you can join one of the many teams in DCS.

How it is in the FSX scene, I don't know.

Darkthreader

« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2014, 02:21:07 pm »

The most used simulator this year is DCS. Second most is Flaming Cliffs 2.
In the past, we had a couple of FSX teams joining VFAT that flew interesting demos.
DCS World itself is for free, you can download(here) and try out with the Su-25 that is included. Flaming Cliffs 3 isn't so expensive anymore and covers a bunch interesting jets as the F-15, Su-27, Mig-29 and more. If this simulator is in your liking you can join one of the many teams in DCS.

How it is in the FSX scene, I don't know.